Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eclipse vs Netbeans

Hi all,

I'm a Java programmer and I really want to know which one is better for developing J2EE apps. I guess Eclipse is the most used IDE, but Netbeans is getting better every release. What do you guys think?

Thanks

Eclipse is lighter on the resources than Netbeans,
    but Netbeans also has great features.

Comment

Eclipse has lot more plugins than Netbeans. Netbeans comes preconfigured with more plugins than Eclipse, however you can find plugins for everything you would want to do for Eclipse easily than for Netbeans. Netbeans has a nice GUI builder which Eclipse lacks.

Both have their pros & cons even though 90% of the features are common between both IDE's. I would say it is a good idea for you to try both of them for a week and see which one you like better. These days (where most IDE's have similar feature sets), the choice of a particular IDE doesn't always boil down to the features available but depends mainly on what feels good to you and easier to navigate for you.

Comment

I agree with hermit here on the plugins. I've used Netbeans for years before switching to Eclipse for the easy subversion/SVN plugins. Netbeans is definitely easier on the eyes, though, with its nice GUI. If you've got the patience and the OS, JCreater's also a good choice, although they nag you to give them money.

Comment

Eclipse is really heavy and slow and it gets on my nerves. Netbeans was like that, but I've been told that this has changed, has it gotten better?

Comment