Money and Programming

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Money and Programming

This thread is all about money and programming.

What is the best route to go as a programmer to make more money than the average programmer. To be specific, what are the best languages and skills to master in order to make 100,000+ a year.

The overall point of this thread is to figure out which programming skills are the most profitable.

I'm a C++ developer. I've had offers in the 80k range. If I were to do low level embedded system development I could easily be in the 100k range. But I chose to develop for a startup company making a fraction of what I should 55k + benefits. I'm doing this because I'm getting profit sharing and 10% ownership in the company, so if it takes off I could be banking 100k a year without lifting a finger! If it doesn't pay off I'll treat it as a learning experience and move on to a job with a better salary. Hope this helps a little bit.

Comment

Originally posted by joedamas View Post

What is the best route to go as a programmer to make more money than the average programmer. To be specific, what are the best languages and skills to master in order to make 100,000+ a year.

The overall point of this thread is to figure out which programming skills are the most profitable.
      Unfortunately that depends a lot on an employer, company financial situation and luck (be at the right place at the right time with the right skills).
      However, I've seen too many times "experts" with the only one skill above average - talking nonsense. :(

I would suggest to study something that you find interest in. Once you are an expert in that field, start thinking about more money. Start for less and first prove you self. With references and recommendations you can expect to earn more.

Comment

I agree with what has already been said.