Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What edication did you take to learn coding?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What edication did you take to learn coding?

Hello,

Next year I'll strart "Software Sience" in The Netherlands.
    So what did you study?
    Or did you learn the coding yourself?
    and what coding languages can you code in now?
    Last edited by AlltheWay; May 20, 2013, 02:03 PM.

I have taken three years of computer science in school learning the basics of many different coding languages and i am also self taught off of books and websites

Comment

I studied Computer Science at a university. I learned C there (most of their classes were taught in C), but then taught myself C# and ASP.NET using books. Right now, I also know Javascript and a little bit of Python.

I advise you to study programming-related topics on your own. At least in the US, Computer Science is mainly theory and not enough real-world usage. For example, we were never taught topics like unit testing or version control. This will also help you stand out when looking for a job after you finish your studying.

Comment

I agree with what others have stated. in that while you can get some university education, which will help teach a language or two its really to enforce basic theory. Which you then can use as the basis to study new languages, further your theoretical knowledge or add real-world education with self learning. I like some of the other folks studied computer engineering (ADA, C) and learned the web and object oriented languages (Objective-C, etc.) on my own.

Honestly I know some guys that were completely self taught and work as software engineers and architects today. I'm always impressed when I talk to them to see what their up to.

Comment