Why ask for a speedtest?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why ask for a speedtest?

Almost every inviter is asking for a speedtest, and I was wondering if there is an expectation or requirement regarding (upload)speed when considering to invite somebody. I'm fairly new to the world of private trackers and far as I know, the trackers that I am a member of, do not have speed requirements.
    Moreover although it will be harder, I think it is still possible to maintain a proper ratio with less bandwidth, as an alternative you can always (temporarily) use a seedbox..

So as an inviter do you have upload speed requirements? What is the minimum? And is this because your tracker requires this? What if somebody owns a seedbox?

Speed test requirement is a verification of your identity rather than uploading capability. Other than that, good home connection makes you look better. A seed box can substitute poor connection but it is more like temporary solution by design.

Comment

The speed test could be important part of the decision on sites that are hard to seed. A slow connection could make it harder to keep a good ratio.
      I don't know about everyone else but I always check it against the one in their intro.

Comment

Hi

we ask for a speed test because some trackers are actually quite hard to maintain ratios on unless you know 100% what you are doing (such as cross seeding), take TL for example we know that place is loaded with SeedBoxes who just nab every torrent that comes in then gets rid as soon as peak leech/seed is done, those with a slower than average connection will have a very hard time keeping a good ratio on there. now with that in mind people giving out invites would like some assurance that they can give you the igiver without as much worry that you will be able to keep a good ratio. and as stated above it is also there as a proof of identity what with the timing they were taken.

Kind Regards,
        Marsh