Physics!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Physics!

So, I'm currently in my 3rd year of college going for an eventual Ph.D. most likely focused in theoretical astro-particle physics. I've noticed there are at least a few people on here that are interested or are also studying physics. Figured it would be interesting to discuss current things going on in physics, or older things, or even theories or ideas you've come up by yourselves. I know I have a few. So, any takers?

OK -- here's a question I've been pondering.

When a particle pair with spin is created in a weak force interaction -- say a spin up electron and a spin down electron -- then they are entangled.

Here's the question: When one of these two electrons is annihilated in a positron+electron collision, does the paired electron also get destroyed to conserve spin? And if so, does the the other positron get destroyed? Does it have to be the entangled pair? Can it by any other opposite-spin particle that gets destroyed?

Is it only possible for an up electron to combine with a down positron?

Comment

Originally posted by TorrentMage View Post
      OK -- here's a question I've been pondering.

When a particle pair with spin is created in a weak force interaction -- say a spin up electron and a spin down electron -- then they are entangled.

Here's the question: When one of these two electrons is annihilated in a positron+electron collision, does the paired electron also get destroyed to conserve spin? And if so, does the the other positron get destroyed? Does it have to be the entangled pair? Can it by any other opposite-spin particle that gets destroyed?

Is it only possible for an up electron to combine with a down positron?