Scam warning. www.yourube.com.
Register

We are the best invite forum on the internet! Here you will find free invites, free seedboxes, free bonuses, and much more. Our members know the true meaning of sharing and have created a truly global bittorent community! Our site has the most up to date information on all private trackers and our members will guide you and introduce you to this truly secretive and enlightened club. Ready to get started? Register now!


Results 1 to 2 of 2
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By dill

Thread: Scam warning. www.yourube.com.

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    32

    Default Scam warning. www.yourube.com.

    This is just a quick warning to hopefully stop anyone getting suckered into this.

    Just now, I went to browse youtube, but accidentally, without realising, started typing www .your.... into my IE9 adress bar, sinse IE9 automatically fills in known websites I saw what I thought was www .youtube.com . automatically entered and pressed enter. Of course I didn't enter youtube, instead I entered a scam website: www .yourube.com which pops up a message saying 'today is our 6th birthday', pressing ok on this leads you to a page with the message:

    Dear Visitor,
    Today is our 6th Birthday and you’ve been selected to take part in the celebration! For your chance to win choose one of the amazing gifts on the right! Prizes are available today only: March 29, 2011
    and asks you to select a prize (macbook air, iphone 4 or iPad 2). Once you've selected a 'prize' it asks for your mobile number to let you know if you win, but of course really signs you up to funmobile (or something similar) which sends you text after text and charges you £1.50 per text.

    Now, I'm cautious enough not to have given them any information, and quickly realised that this had nothing to do with youtube. But I was fooled at first, simply because I hadn't realised I'd typed the wrong letter, r instead of t!

    Just a quick warning, incase anyone does something similar, afterall it's an easy mistake to make. A little annoyed that Microsoft are auto-completing such a site, not sure if other browsers will aswell.

    Edit. It's impossible to remove link formatting. Entering www .youtube.com (without space) automatically changes it to www.youtube.com or even You Tube - Broadcast Yourself, no matter how many times I remove the link or remove text formatting.

    Further edt. A little reasearch shows that www .youtbue.com also leads you to the same scam. Sure there's plenty more misspellings of websites that leads to scams, just the first time I've come across it!

    Last edited by dill; March 28th, 2011 at 03:53 PM. Reason: spelling
    sticky likes this.


  2. To remove ads become VIP. Inquire about advertising here.
  3. #2

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    230
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks for the heads up.

Similar Threads

  1. http://www.bestmmatorrents.com problem.
    By capman in forum BitTorrent Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: August 24th, 2008, 08:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •